Mike & The Mechanics


Mike and the Mechanics (stylised as Mike + The Mechanics) is an English rock supergroup formed in Dover in 1985 by Mike Rutherford, initially as a side project during a hiatus period for his earlier group Genesis. The band is known for hit singles "Silent Running", "All I Need Is a Miracle", "Taken In", "The Living Years", "Word of Mouth" and "Over My Shoulder".

Initially, the band included Rutherford, vocalists Paul Carrack and Paul Young, keyboardist Adrian Lee, and drummer Peter Van Hooke. After a decade together, Lee and Van Hooke dropped out in 1995 and were not replaced. Following Young's death in 2000, Carrack became the band's sole lead vocalist until 2004 when the band (essentially a duo at this point) dissolved, with Rutherford and Carrack both later saying the band had "run its course". In 2010, the band was revived with Rutherford headlining a completely new set of musicians, including vocalists Andrew Roachford and Tim Howar.


Out of the Blue

April 5, 2019

Play on spotify

Over My Shoulder

March 22, 2019

Play on spotify

Let Me Fly

April 7, 2017

Play on spotify

Don't Know What Came Over Me

February 28, 2017

Play on spotify

The Road

April 18, 2011

Play on spotify


September 13, 2005

Play on spotify

Beggar on a Beach of Gold

March 6, 1995

Play on spotify

Word of Mouth

April 2, 1991

Play on spotify

Living Years

January 1, 1988

Play on spotify

Mike + The Mechanics

October 5, 1985

Play on spotify